Recipe for my good day

Meet with friends, walk in the woods, cycle and drink tea.

I managed to combine all these things in one trip today, by visiting Drumlanrig Castle. On the way, I went to see Ann, one of the most cheerful people I know, despite everything that life throws at her.

At Drumlanrig, I walked the Tree Trail. Many of these are rare specimens, but all are beautiful. They include the first Douglas Fir to be planted in the UK, and a red oak planted in 1971 by Neil Armstrong, the first man on the moon, who stayed at the Castle. This photo shows the inside of one of the Victorian Heather houses.

I then went on one of the many cycle routes around the castle, mine was on quiet roads (2 cars passed me in the space of an hour) but there are also MTB trails. Come and meet Rik, who runs Riks Bike Shed. He can hire you a bike and advise you about where to ride. He's also great at fixing bikes.

I have a year's pass which leads you visit as many times as you like for only £15, including a free tea or coffee once a month. So after my ride, I went to the Tearoom for some refreshment.

It was a Good Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.