Life's tangled skein

By atp

Stirling Bridges

These pictures are of the Stirling Bridges, taken when I went on a run this morning. Somehow, I managed to get slightly lost on my run and went further than I had planned - six miles instead of four. You might ask how I could get lost in a town with a massive great hill right in its centre, but somehow I managed it.

Anyway, the closer bridge is the Old bridge. Back in 1297 the original, wooden Stirling Bridge was destroyed in the Battle of Stirling Bridge. Some kind of timber structure replaced that bridge, but the one you can see here was most likely built some time in the mid 1400s. For almost four hundred years it was the furthest down-river bridge across the Forth.

Beyond that, the New Bridge. "New" meaning built in 1831. It now carries Causewayhead Road, linking Stirling with Bridge of Allan.

And just visible through the New Bridge's arches is the railway bridge. I've not been able to find much about that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.