Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Smelling the Flowers

I’m not particularly qualified to give advice. I can’t really talk with any authority about the economy, or world issues, or philosophy and the universe. But I have spent a good deal of time observing the world and particularly, people and their interactions in the world around me. Maybe that’s where my lifelong love for photography comes in.

Over the course of my life, I’ve enjoyed an eclectic assortment of careers and have come away with this conclusion: don’t ever confuse your work with your life. Our lives consist of snapshot moments, bits of glitter strewn amidst long stretches of tedium. This glitter isn’t going to just come to you. We have to teach ourselves how to recognize it and make room for it, particularly in these days with the busy, multi-tasking lives most of us lead. In doing so, we’ll learn to love the journey all the better.

What is the point of this late night rambling? The clock is ticking. Go get your life! Go out and grab hold of it. Get a life where you notice the scent of lilacs in the air, the color of light as it shines through a petal, what brings a smile to a loved one’s face. We are so busy working hard and hoping to do well, but doing well won’t be enough if you don’t also do good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.