Igor

By Igor

May Sisters’ Challenge and DDW Challenge

Midpoint and Where I live

This is the view I get from my chair in our summerhouse/shed. As I notice the reflection in the door, two things strike me:

1. They must have used some really cheap glass when they made this shed - perhaps a job-lot from a funfair?

2. The door frame neatly divides the scene in two. The two halves seem an apt descriptor for life. Sometimes life is neat and tidy and things happen in strict accordance with rules and consequences - and at other times, life is wobbly, weird and not always as you picture it. Reality becomes distorted.

I mention the bit about the door frame to Anniemay and get a lecture for my trouble to the effect that midpoint is a technical term and does not simply mean dividing something in two; “the midpoint is a point - not a line.”… I raise my hand to object; “what about football commentators talking about the midpoint in a game…”, but she counters; “I’ve spent my life explaining this to children …..”

But I say, surely we can use a colloquial definition, for the sake of the challenge; she agrees and confesses that she used my tape measure to set up her blip this morning. Her midpoint is a midpoint in its strictest sense. I do admire her dedication to her calling.

As I try and process this image and fail to balance the contrast between the interior and exterior a third thing strikes me; I really am going to have to buy some lawn food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.