TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Summertime Blues

Again the day started in full blue, a few white puffy clouds. As administrative work was waiting I postponed my trip to the beach. If not I knew that I would stay at the beach the whole morning. So I did my self disciplining exercise first. After “keeping things on the move” and having lunch with Willemien and Mischa, it was my turn to go for a seaside-break. And though it had become it bit more cloudy, it was a splendid early summer afternoon at the Zandmotor.

Tide was at its lowest, which enabled an easy crossing. Still you have to go carefully even through the undeep but quick streaming waterway to reach the peninsula. There are always unexpected pits and you may suddenly sink away into driftsand. Not really a problem but if you have your camera and phone in your pocket...And I had, how sloppy of me, my Lumix without battery. Ah, so I tried my smartphone - impossible to focus in this overbright sunlight - I tried to see what remains of that first summer heat impression on that sandy island near the light blue sea. You can look for yourself.

Light blues everywhere, bleach sands, few birds and people. One young man sitting in the burning sunshine, meditating. Not my piece of zenny cake here. I prefer walking and sightseeing and...swimming. Today I could stay longer and really do some swimming rounds. The sea being as smooth as a mirror, slightly heaving. The only movement coming and going: the big flying shadows of the clouds, some cormorants on their fishing tracks, a pair of jackdaws, a tern, some gulls. No seal popping up with his sniffy nostrils. After the swim I took my time to lay down on the sand, just listening and looking into the sky and over the sea. Even far from the mountainside I cherished this wonderful experience. Et in Arcadia ego...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.