OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Red-backed shrike in Deerness

Not very sharp but still... I went out to Deerness to try and find some birds that had been reported- dotterels, which are probably en route elsewhere to breed. But I didn't look in the right field. I walked along from Lighthouses Corner, past the house called Diamonds and on until I reached the cliffs of Mull Head reserve. Lots of razorbills and guillemots as well as fulmars and a few puffins on the sea and cliffs. A big grey seal watched me have coffee on the shore, then I headed round the ness and back along the road toward Skaill. I thought this bird a male linnet till I got the binoculars on it. It is only the fourth of this species I've seen. It was dropping from the fence into long grass where it was catching caterpillars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.