Gaia's Child

By maura143

Safe...By a Tail!

This morning I was trying to get a good shot of a Pileated Woodpecker who has been eating me out of house and home, feeding babies I hope. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a flash of orange and some movement. Of course, I turned my lens on that spot and found this Brown Anole Lizard. He's a male and the orange appendage below his neck is his Dewlap. With it he signals other males that this is his territory and also uses it to attract females. How could they not find it irresistible!

Notice that this fellow's tail is but a stump of it's former self. These anoles, if they are pinned by a cat, dog, or curious child or if caught by a bird, can drop their tails, which continue to wiggle...keeping the attention of the predator, hopefully long enough for the lizard to make it's escape! The Anole is then able to regenerate it's tail. So, this guy was a lucky one. I always feel good when I see one that was Safe...By a Tail!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.