"How tickled I am, by George."©

"Have you ever been tickled by George Mrs.?"©
With apologies to Doddy for nicking his line.

It has taken lots and lots and lots>>>>>>> of patience to get this far. Cushat used to take off like a bat out of hell at the sound of the door.
Then it got hardened to the fact that the sound wasn't a danger.
For a long time after that, it fled at the sight of me.
(SHUT UP YOU!!)
Slowly I got it used to me leaning on the shed and watching it round the corner.
The other day I was able to s l o w l y walk the length of the bungalow gathering some herb and back inside the house with it still on the grass, having waddled to the farthest end of the lawn.
Today I spotted it on next door's fence and the red checker wandering across the lawn towards me, scrounging. ( So? What's fresh?) I gave my "pigeon- whistle" a kind of Pssss-wsst through the teeth while I placed a handful of seed spread twixt the two dishes, retreated to my usual place on the wall and lo and behold ... The result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.