Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Up on the Roof ...

... of The Merchants House of Glasgow on the corner of George Square. An appointment at The House led to an unexpected invitation to go up to the sixth floor and see the city from the roof. I was a bit nervous about it, but needn't have been. A safe, excellent vantage point across the City Centre.

The Square is full of construction workers preparing for the BBC Radio 1's Big Weekend, so I went for this view up George Street, to include another high point in my life, the Livingstone Tower, part of University of Strathclyde. I spent several years there, and have had the chance to see the city from the Penthouse at the very top.

I have an invitation back to this roof when the Square is re-instated, and I will definitely be taking that up.

Other 'high' points today included the chance to view the Cathedral interior from the Organ Loft, then great views from the Necropolis. I had also hoped to go up The Lighthouse Tower, but it is closed for the foreseeable future, due a problem with the spiral staircase. I did go up in the lift to the Viewing Platform, but a panorama through glass just isn't quite the same. I have my suspicion the Tower won't be open for my visitors in late July, but we'll see. It's a place I like to take newcomers to the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.