Resident with camera

By Lawrie

Leeds Landmarks #1: The Kremlin

I should really title this theme, 'my landmarks' as I'm sure that some people in Leeds won't class what I think of as landmarks. This one is a prime example, it's real name is Quarry House and is the home to the Department of Health. Locals refer to it as either "The Kremlin" or "Ministry of Truth".

The site itself is of historic importance, in the 1600s it was the site of 'Plague Cabins" where people who became infected were bundled off to; in the late 1700s, ironically, it became a spa, where people would come to be healed by the waters of Leeds (Quarry Hill being associated with Sheepscar Beck).

This is just the radio mast(?) on the top, a fuller view can be seen, where it is possible to see why it earned the nicknames above. I have to pass the building when going to the station or just into town, it always reminds me of something out of Gotham City

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.