CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

Married 60 years and still smiling...

I was honored to attend my uncle and aunt's 60th anniversary celebration today. It was held on my late Grandfather's farm. They were radiant and in relatively good health. Both are in their 80's and I think looking rather well!! What a joyous atmosphere throughout the afternoon. With the exception of one grandchild, their whole family was in attendance. They have 5 grown sons, all married. Now my aunt has her "daughters"!! What an inspiration they are to family and friends.

It was also a great opportunity to visit with my sister - she and I traveled down for the day. We had our usual stop and shared a crab salad sandwich, but we each had our own rolo donut (no sharing that)! My younger sister and brother also came, so it was a time to catch up with busy lives.

All in all, a good day, only slightly marred by the realization that my uncles and aunts are getting older and experiencing health issues. The time they will be with us keeps getting shorter. So, it is good to celebrate when the occasion arises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.