Guilty Pleasures

Ever since I was a little girl growing up in green and leafy Surrey, England, I’ve had a marked fondness for these sweets known as Pear Drops. They are vaguely pear-shaped, but they don’t taste like any pear I’ve ever eaten. The best (and probably weirdest) way to describe the flavour is to liken it to the way nail polish smells! The exterior is covered in coarse sugar, which leaves the roof of your mouth quite raw if you eat too many at one sitting.

After reading this description, I am fairly certain that no sensible adult would want to pop a Pear Drop into their mouth. I suppose it’s a taste that can only be acquired when one is very young and indiscriminate. Pear Drops aren’t made in the United States, but through the magic of the internet, I have discovered that I can buy a bag quite easily through Amazon. They are expensive, but they do make a lovely, infrequent, nostalgic treat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.