fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Paul's Seattle Visit

I first met Paul when I was feature editor of our college newspaper. He was a new freshman fledgling reporter and assigned to me. I saw him as very young and wet under the ears so I just passed off a story to cover that I was told do but thought was dumb. Paul turned in an amazing article and proved what great writing skills he had plus the ability to turn nothing into something! We plotted to do many more significant stories on the anti-war movement and peace but these were rejected by the editor each time so we parted ways . We were much more involved then in the little campus peace group and shared some memorable protests in Wash. D.C. during the Vietnam war era. Paul and I were tear gassed, and jailed together adding one more firm bonding to work for peace. Now, years later, we still have this connection to strive for a more peaceful world. We have only seen each other very periodically but have kept in touch. Yesterday Paul and his partner Kate visited and we all shared a day of exploration in Seattle together. We visited Fremont and the statue of Lenin brought here after the fall of the Soviet Union. It was weird to contemplate what it now had become standing next to a gelato place serving a lemon Lenin favor. Paul has a dream to travel and write and I believe that with his skills this will become a reality. Kate loves photography and I encouraged her to join the blip community. I am thankful in the new year for this reconnection to the past with this recent visit from Paul. It's all about the friendships we make and build upon:) Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.