Lime Hawk

The first hawk moths of the year appeared at the moth-trap today - one Lime Hawk and two Poplar Hawks. The Lime Hawk is reasonably common species in the southern half of Britain, it was most frequent in the London area, where there are still extensive tree-lined avenues. In recent years its distribution has spread northwards and is now regularly found well into North Yorkshire and beyond.It has a distinctive scalloped-edged forewing, subtly coloured in pinkish and green. The central dark band is quite variable in size and extent.Occupying woodland and suburban habitats, it flies in May and June. The larvae feed on lime as well as a number of other deciduous trees including birch , alder and elm.

After being happy that my leg felt better yesterday, today was about as bad as it could get. First thing this morning I turned over in bed, and a sharp pain shot down my leg. I managed to get round Sainsbury's in the morning, but by the evening I was in so much pain I could scarcely stand or walk, and the painkillers had no effect at all. I even had to eat my evening meal lying on my back in bed. I eventually rang the NHs, and having spoken to two very kind and helpful people, was asked to go to the Walk-in Centre - which seemed somewhat ironic as I couldn't walk. Pete ordered a taxi, and I got there, although a certain amount of quiet swearing and moaning was involved.

The eastern European doctor was very kind and gave me an intramuscular injection of diclofenac and a strong codeine tablet. She also prescribed stronger painkillers, to be taken regularly, which Pete collected from the late chemist for me. Within an hour I was much more comfortable, and was even able to help Ben with his final biology revision. As I said to Ben, the only good thing about severe pain is how happy you feel when it stops!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.