CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Pacemaker

I seem to spend a lot of time in Hospital attending Clinics for my Heart and Joints. Today it was the Pacemaker Clinic, which I attend every six months. The big white instrument over my heart is actually 'interrogating' the Pacemaker. Many readings are taken to ensure everything is functioning well, including the level of battery life left. There is an enormous amount of ECG data produced as well as the frequency of heart beats. The Pacemaker keeps me at a steady 60 bpm and would also kick in to give me a 'shock' if ever needed.

There is no doubt it gives me a sense of security, along with the many drugs I have to take (quite apart from the Trial Drug). It is now 15 years since I had quadruple by-pass surgery and I should be able to go on blipping for a while yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.