Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Longhorn

I took a quick lunchtime stroll over to Sconce Crag to look for Green Hairstreaks again. This is probably the largest expanse of bilberry on the moor, but not a hairstreak to be seen. Lots of Green-veined Whites and Small Tortoiseshells though, and hundreds (250+) of Common Heath moths.

More unusual was this longhorn moth; probably one of the Adela species. I saw another Bilberry Roller too, as well as a Large Red Damselfly which was my first dragonfly of the year.

Turning back I heard my first cuckoo of the year (short video clip here, the only way I had of recording it) and watched a crow mobbing a Red Kite, before returning to Orange-tip and Speckled Wood in the garden.

Great to have so much wildlife close to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.