Got A Cricket In My Bonnet

Salute the saltatorians! I've been togging tiny grasshopper and cricket nymphs on and off all day. Around lunchtime I got some cheeky-chappie style 'hopper shots such as I have captured many times before.

This evening I togged the tiniest Roesel's bush cricket nymph ever, identified by the yellow margin to its pronotum.

We have a double pink aquilegia growing in our field which must be a garden escape and I always check it for bugs. At around 8.30 this evening I spotted this speckled bush cricket nymph perched on a flower. I took a couple of shots using flash which shows the detail well but have decided to post one using natural light which gives a softer effect.

Aquilegia is also know as granny's bonnets. It's one of my favourite cottage-garden flowers.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.