Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Hot Chocolate

Hot Chocolate was always a very special treat growing up and my parents would often let my sister and I order a nice steamy mug while spending time in their favorite coffee shop. It brings back a nostalgic feeling because I always remember these moments as times of bonding. Our family of four sitting around a table and just talking. I can remember as far back as five or six and sitting in the coffee shop with my sister and my parents just talking. Sometimes we would play checkers. Sometimes we would chat with other well known locals. Always, our favorite coffee lady would add lots of EXTRA whipped cream.

This tradition has carried on into my new family of four. My Dad is still a regular at his favorite coffee shop in town and shows us all off with pride whenever we come to town to visit. All of his Grandchildren have tiny little "Coffee" t-shirts. The kids always walk in with their fresh new shirts and walk out with hot chocolate spilled down the front. Getting hot chocolate is more than just spoiling the grandkids, it is about creating a special time when everyone sits around the table and just talks.

Today, we sat around the table and talked. My kids and I had several returns to make at the mall and it wasn't until we were parked (in a great space might I add), that I realized I had forgotten my bag of returns at home. Aaaah, did I really just do that??? Oh well, a changed of plans and for the better. We met up with our good friend (a non-blipper but my daily blip checker, thanks) and we went for hot chocolate/ mocha for me. We sat around the table and just talked.

My kids love to order. They are still so tiny at almost 4 and 2, yet it makes them feel important to tell the coffee lady what they would like to have.

My son's version: "I would like a warm hot chocolate milk with lots of whip cream please".

My daughter's version: "ha da-yik peeeees"

This makes me smile every single time. I adore my kids. They are my whole entire life and they make me laugh constantly all day long. Little experiences like this just warm my heart. My parents gave my sister and I the opportunity to order for ourselves and it was a learning experience. It taught independence and encouraged our young self-esteems.

Going out for hot chocolate may seem like a simple little treat, which it is. But it is also an opportunity to just sit around a table and just talk.

Nostalgia is a beautiful thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.