Scribbler

By scribbler

Blood, sweat & tears

First draft of my novel (so far) with Mothers Day rose.

Hopefully this speaks to the final chapters I have left to write:
“There are all sorts of discoveries in the novel that I hadn’t made
until I wrote the last chapter.
I discovered what the resolution was in the act of writing it.
The gap between the description of experience and the experience closed
and the gap between the author and the alter ego closed.
I was discovering what my protagonist was discovering in real time
by writing it.”

— Edward St. Aubyn, speaking with Terri Gross about his autobiographical novels


I've been working on this book for 10 years.

The rose has been around for 10 days.
It looks just the way it did when I received it.
It hasn't faded, its leaves are still crisp and green.

I put these objects together as a metaphorical expression of hope.

I hope that, like the rose, the book will appear crisp and fresh and not reveal the writerly struggle that has gone into it.

I hope that in the same way the rose came to me as a gift, the book's completion will come as a gift.

I hope that, like the rose, I will endure to put forth all that I have to give.

I hope that, having given this writing the maximum of my time and talent, it will please my readers with the simplicity and freshness of a rose.

Thank you for asking.


CHALLENGES

Anniemay+Mollymay
Maximum

DDW: Where I Live
I live in my novel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.