sp33dway

By sp33dway

Chester Half Marathon 2014

I ran the Chester Half today, shaving 4 minutes off my time last year but 6 minutes shy of my PB. Not my best run by any margin, but I didn't stop and I'm chuffed as billy-o about that.

It was the hottest day of the year so far and there was virtually no shade over the entire route, save for the odd wall or conveniently placed treeclumpage. It was far too hot and people were dropping like flies, ambulances sirening their way to those in need. I was keeping well ahead of the 2hr 10 pacers and had the sub-2hr group in my sights, but when I passed a person with paramedics in the recovery position it dawned on me not to be stupid, and I backed off.

I'll applaud the members of the public who set up support stations along the way, playing songs on their guitars or showcasing their child-prodigy on the drums, but I'd especially like to thank the man who stood at the side of the road hosing us down as we ran passed and the lady who was handing out jellybeans at mile 10. The real stars of the show though were the volunteers who manned the drinks stations to help keep the bottles of water flowing. They were like gods.

When I finished the race my legs were fine but my feet were agonising, especially the side and sole of my left foot (where the rip in my FiveFingers is) so a new pair looks like order of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.