Igor

By Igor

May Sisters’ Challenge; Moment(s)

There are a couple of moments of significance today.

Anniemay’s off galavanting and I do the supermarket run. It’s late morning when I finish and I’m desperate for a coffee and a sit down. I plonk the bags on the kitchen floor and put the coffee machine on. The idea is that I’ll put the shopping away while the coffee’s brewing. But I dither; shall I put it away first or shall I have a coffee first?

Every time a checkout girl says “would you like help with packing?” I say “ no, but could you send someone round to put it all away.” Because putting the shopping away invariably means sorting out the fridge first to make room. I never do it beforehand.

I make my coffee, step over the bags and exit to the summerhouse. I’ll only be a moment. But this particular moment happens to stretch out a bit as I take my camera as well. I spend a few additional (and guilty) moments playing with the software and happen on a B&W solarization effect. I’m not sure about the predominance of black sky.

Moments later, the sky really does turn black as the heavens open. This is Biblical stuff - hail, thunder, lightening. The gutters are overflowing, the drains are overflowing and in about 10’ the garden is flooded. All our hard work of the past few weeks is under water.

The Azalea blossom that I blipped only a few days ago feels the brunt of the hail, which lies like snow on the lawn. The path to the front door is also under water and I think for a moment that we’re going to be marooned. It all happened so quickly.

About an hour later it has seeped into the ground. Anniemay comes home; “how was it?” I have to think for a moment.

There's a moral here; if you don't put your shopping away first the sky will fall in. This photo proves it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.