MarketingRetail

By MarketingRetail

A rather different type of mall experience

Just sorting through the photos I took in Singapore in April 2014 when I was out there to teach on our BA in Retail Marketing programme at S.I.M. When I posted the photo of the mall in Stirling last week I commented on the changing nature of Scottish High Streets. The photos reminded me that whilst some of the malls in Singapore offer a rarified shopping experience with international brands, others are just 6 or 7 floors of local shopping and services, including minimarts selling food from Myanmar or the Philippines, hairdressers, fortune tellers, medical offices and remittance agents so that foreign workers can send some of their wages home. Maybe we should embrace some of the changes that are happening here - it's all retailing after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.