WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Tracy

Today was quite remarkable.  

I have been to visit a company called Enabled Works Ltd which was formed as a social enterprise after the closure of the Leeds and Pontefract Remploy factories.  They provide a mixture of contract packing, mailings, fulfilment and electrical assembly work to other businesses.

Enabled Works is owned and run by its own disabled workforce.  

I was tasked by my other half, who works for the Leeds Community Foundation, to attempt to take some photos for a brochure they were producing about this impressive company that they support.

I gave lots of caveats about me not doing indoor photography but was looking forward to the challenge.  What I enjoyed more than the photography was meeting the wonderful individuals who make this place a success.  I felt heartened, warmed and inspired by everyone on their team.

I was greeted warmly by two members of the Workers Co-operative, one of which was Tracy here whose smile caught my eye.  I enjoyed good conversations, banter and laughter on the factory floor.  

The three people that oversee the company are amazing.  Always looking for ways to maximise income in their factory unit, they rent out rooms, offer a touch screen Smartboard, have an IT suite and contract in freelance fork-lift truck driving instructors to teach local unemployed people a new skill.  The whole team seems to have an incredibly strong desire to succeed.

This quote above the entrance to the factory struck a real chord:

"It's amazing what can be achieved, when nobody cares who takes the credit"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.