Mark the Music

"The man that hath no music in himself,
Nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds,
Is fit for treasons, stratagems and spoils;
The motions of his spirit are dull as night
And his affections dark as Erebus:
Let no such man be trusted. Mark the music."

- William Shakespeare (The Merchant of Venice - Act V, Scene 1)


Lunchtime concert for Languages Day - students from 9th-12th grades played Faure, Ravel, Debussy. Afterwards my colleagues in the Foreign Languages dept gave me the most gorgeous bouquet - a lovely 'thank you' gesture for organising the recital.

After school matinee performance today of the comedy "The Complete Works of William Shakespeare - Abridged" with Mike and me playing some music of Renaissance England for about fifteen minutes at the beginning. I didn't stay for the rest of the play nor did I go to the library to work on my dissertation so was home by 4pm and have enjoyed an unusually long, quiet, peaceful evening as an oasis of calm in this frenzied fun week.

For the record: hot and sunny today. Officially 24ºC but it felt more than that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.