hello : )

By 1DayataTime

down by the banks of the river Charles...

or otherwise known by the song Dirty Water by The Standells

Of recent the Charles River, which runs between Boston/Newton and Cambridge/Watertown, Massachusetts (USA) is cleaner than it was decades ago. Last year a public swim was held for the first time since the 1950s - those brave souls! I still remember how 20 years ago in August the river would actually smell - I guess because it was very hot and whatever was in there was starting to roast. Anyway, my apologies if I've started to make your stomach turn.

This photo was taken in Watertown where the river is much narrower than in Boston. I love kayaking in the Charles River, but not sure that I'm ready to take a swim in it just yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.