Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

Change Of Plan

Oh what a long, strange and eventful day... a planned business trip to Zurich tonight was on / off / on again / off again / on again as priorities changed around the office (I'm currently working for a well-known online marketplace business that's been in the news in the last 24 hours...) and finally as I was about to leave for the airport at teatime when I got a text from Swiss Airlines telling me that tonight's flight had been cancelled!

Cue lots of frantic re-organisation of flights and hotels – I'm now flying out of Gatwick first thing in the morning instead of out of Heathrow tonight. And EasyJet not Swiss. And my hotel in Zurich is non-refundable. The flight is crazy early tomorrow so I write this from the 'Yotel' at Gatwick Airport, where the rooms are so incredibly small they call them 'cabins'. It's like a 1-berth caravan :-/

ANYWAY: silver linings and all that – not flying tonight meant that between office and airport hotel I managed to grab a quick after-work drink in a local cocktail bar with the lovely people from Marketing. The brief highlight in an otherwise frantic day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.