Inverculain

By Inverculain

Airy

A few weeks ago, I posted a shot of Heathrow. This evening I took this as I passed through Madrid airport. I think it makes a nice contrast.

In Madrid, I always notice bright colours featuring in a lot of the architecture, and this terminal is no exception. (This is the "warm" end - colours gradually transition through yellows to greens and blues if you go the other way.) In the Heathrow shot, it's all strong angles and straight lines, the design emphasizing the strength of the structure. Here though, the lines of the beams and the graceful, sweeping curves of the roof seem almost organic to me, and make it feel like the space is barely enclosed, billowing out into the outside world.

Home now, but the next 3-4 weeks are going to be crazy. It's likely quite a few emergency "airport blips" will feature...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.