Stripped bare

I only went outside briefly at lunchtime and found that instead of looking around me for interesting sights, I spent most of the time paying very close attention to the treacherous icy pavements that I was walking on. I did see a comedy squirrel chase, one running up the harling of a house like this with a whole apple in his mouth and a colleague in hot pursuit, but they disappeared over the kirkyard wall before I could even get the camera out.

I thought I'd come back past the rowan trees by the nursery and see if there were any birds sitting in them. They were deserted and you can see why - each of the little extremities of these branches was heavy with berries a month ago and they've been completely stripped bare. The poor birdies must be starving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.