Amulree Kirk

It was going to be such a nostalgic trip for me today when I was due to meet ANewDay for lunch at Amulree Tearoom.

My mother had been the headteacher at the little school in Amulree in the 70s, when her pupils were the children of shepherds, gamekeepers and farmers. I had been married in Amulree Kirk and both daughters had been christened there. As you may gather, it is a remote spot.

I hadn't been back for a long time. I was looking forward to having a walk with ANewDay up the Glen Quaich road to Loch Freuchie, ancient seat of Clan MacFreuchie, as well as lunch in the tearoom, which had been the post office during my mum's time there.

However, the 'best laid scheme' went 'a-gley' when it was discovered that the tearoom hadn't opened again after last year's season, so we met instead in Crieff for lunch and had a lovely drive/walk up to Loch Turret afterwards. As always, it was a most enjoyable blipmeet, even if it didn't turn out as planned.

Horrified to see flames ripping through Glasgow School of Art on this evening's news!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.