weewilkie

By weewilkie

up, up and away

the world's a nicer place in my beautiful balloon
it wears a nicer face in my beautiful balloon

This song by the Fifth Dimension was written by songsmith supremo Jimmy Webb, and while it doesn't have the ache and tenderness of Wichita Lineman or Galveston it does have an uplifting simplicity that you can't help but smile and feel a wee tingle of the good stuff.

I walked my daughter to her first day of paid employment at the SECC today. All grown and taking her first steps, her very own way in life. And these balloons bright in moody weather. Hope primal and wind tossed. A happy day. Globes, lighter than air, bounce-happy in the slate-grey sky, against the worry; the by-and-by. I have this gorgeous daughter dancing her way out there into the wide world. Bright and funny and friendly and beautiful, yet full of doubts. Emmi-lou, I'm sure I know you. You will shine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.