IN THE HEEMPARK BETWEEN THE REED

I had seen yesterday the swan family and knew I would come back today.
I saw the swan-father swimming and swan-mother on the nest almost hidden in the reed, some of the babies were visible though. I stood there not knowing what to do; wait there till they would go for a swim. Perhaps they just had done that and would stay on the nest.
I walked a bit further to the big pond, seeing a mother-duck with cute tiny babies disappearing also in the reed. And they are wise to do that, because I saw a heron with big eyes, and that is not their only enemy, as there are big fishes too swimming around.
I chased the heron, a useless task of course, when I am gone there she will come back.
I returned to the little brook and saw mother-swan swimming in the middle, I did not count the babies, was only taken pictures now I could spot them better.
Father-swan came swimming towards me and a duck that stood on a little bridge, we both stepped back a bit.
When I came home from my little tour, I started to paint three shelves of the bookcase. I noticed clearly that the colour on these shelves is much lighter than the wall behind. I rejected the idea that a second paint would make the colour more intense, I clearly am not painting for eternity and perhaps the lighter colour is more pleasant to the eye too. And the books that will fill this case will hide most of it anyway. Still 6 or seven shelves to go and then the moment will come we have to decide which books will fill the shelves.

My haiku:

I'll remember it
I hope perhaps I'll forget
But it has happened

And the proverb:

Hij/Zij groeit als een koestaart.

Translation: He/She grows like a tail of a cow. Meaning: He/She stays small.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.