JosvanderLelie

By JosvanderLelie

Today's action: Thrown into the grass

When things go wrong motorcyclists are more vulnerable than for example those driving a car. This evening a motorcyclist lost control over his bike on the road that is directly opposite my house. The cirumstances were not that usual though.

On this stretch of the road police had set up mobile control equipment. It might have been only speed control but ANPR could also have been there, I am not sure about those details. The moment the motorcyclist passed the checkpoint he lost control and was thrown off his bike. He landed beside the road and his vehicle ended up tens of meters further down the road. It is not known to me at what speed he was travelling, but fact is that motorcyclists often race too fast on this road. I've seen them myself getting away with dangerous situations on several occasions. But this time things went completely wrong.

In general, I don't understand why motorcyclists have to race down a public road, endangering themselves and others. Even when driving at normal speed motorcyclists in my opinion need to be aware that they are more vulnerable. And fortunately I see motorcyclists cruising at a defensive speed more often than I see one racing too fast, but each one speeding is one too many. And in case they get in trouble and are being thrown off, I can only hope they are not smashing into a car, a building or a siderail, which will cause terrible injuries. I just hope they wear their protective gear and, like this motorcyclist today, are being thrown into the grass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.