On a Walk around the City

We seemed to have missed the bad weather here in Christchurch. It was a beautiful morning but the wind did pick up later in the afternoon a bit. Other parts of the country were not so lucky.

I hadn't been long out on my walk when I had a fall.. first time ever and I did feel silly! I went to press the button to cross over the street when I miss judged the curve and went over onto the street. It was bad luck that I landed on my bad knee which has been so good for the pass few weeks. My camera was still in my hand.. don't know how it didn't fly across the street. I managed to get back onto the pavement, put my camera down and tried to get up. But was having a bit of trouble when I heard someone say "would you like a hand love" and it was a lovely young Irish man. It took him no time at all to get me up again. He then picked up my camera, took a look at it and said.. "no damaged there, all is well with it!"

I am a bit battered and bruised but seem OK otherwise.

Back to my photos... the top right you can see that they have started on The Te Papa Otakaro/Avon River Precinct. It takes in five areas through the city from the newly opened Watermark section, between the Antigua Boatsheds and Montreal St, along to Fitzgerald Ave.

It will feature a cycleway the length of the precinct and a promenade that sits close to businesses that will be developed alongside it. In the "North Frame" pedestrians and cars will share the road but pedestrians will have the right of way.

Ecologists had also worked on ways to improve the quality of the river's ecosystem. There will be areas along the river where it is narrowed, allowing stronger water flow that will wash away silt from river stones. This, in turn, will encourage fish, insect and bird life back into the city.
For more information on this project.

You can see in the bottom left shot volunteers coating the arches at the Gip Filler headquarters. This the area where The Pallet Pavilion used to be. They are creating a new area and it is going to be call The Commons. Here is a blip I did last October about the Pallet Pavilion.

Their vision is to make the area a welcoming and friendly space where things are always happening involving a range of communities. With community organisation offices, a new food collective with some raised beds for growing things, coffee, the Arcades project, the Makercrate (3D printing lab) and places to sit.

Gap Filler is a creative urban regeneration initiative started in response to the September 4, 2010 Canterbury earthquake, and revised and expanded in light of the more destructive February 22, 2011 quake. It is now administered by the Gap Filler Charitable Trust.

Gap Filler aims to temporarily activate vacant sites within Christchurch with creative projects for community benefit, to make for a more interesting, dynamic and vibrant city.
For more information on Gap Filler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.