Narcissus and Goldmund

The day is still early, and I am sure that I will still take more pictures... but I will put this one in for the day and be on with it!

During the trip to Germany this week, I threw the above mentioned book into the camera bag for a reread after many long years on the bookshelf. (since college days) In fact, there were Greenpeace,WWF and Earthday stickers on the inside. The binding is broken and the glue undone. The cover sort of just 'holds' the pages inside - and the reader has to sort of juggle it all not to loose anything.

I'm not a slow reader - nor a fast one. I just finished last night and was definitely a fresh awakening that I have been thinking about for a long time.

Narcissus - as St. John - or Jesus in this picture. And Goldmund - with all his wordly experiences of pleasure and pain wrapped up into the tender expressions of the madonna, his Lydia and his mother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.