The Wolf Journal

By wolfjournal

Triathlon debut

So today I had my debut on the sprint distance triathlon (500 m of swimming, 20 k biking and 5 k running, or, in this case, 500 - 25,5 - 5,5). I had set myself two goals, of which I am not completely sure which one was the most ambitious: [1] finishing and [2] not finishing last. I managed to reach both. Actually, I'm quite satisfied with the race, finishing 33th of 102 overall.

That should give me a proud, euphoric or at least satisfied feeling, you would guess. But at the moment a certain sadness is competing for the top position in the feelings ranking, as one of the oldest competitors (72 yrs) collapsed on the finish line and - I now know - did not survive. They obviously stopped the 1/4 distance race then, which had already started.

So, pretty mixed feelings here.

On a pretty obvious side note: the guy is not me (I don't even know him), as it would be pretty strange to photograph myself during the race. This is one of the competitors of the 1/4 race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.