Big mistake!

We have lived here for many years and in that time we have realised one thing – we must try not to go out in the car on the Saturday before a Bank Holiday and we must certainly never try to get onto the A66 on the Saturday before a Bank Holiday. (For those who don’t know, the A66 is one of the major routes from the south and east to the Lake District.)

So what did I do today (on the Saturday before a Bank Holiday) – not only did I go out in the car, but I actually tried to get onto the A66 in order to get to Penrith – the same direction as hundreds of people heading for the Lakes. Big Mistake!!

I soon gave up trying to turn right onto the A66 at the end of our road, because there was a continuous stream of traffic heading north – cars, vans, caravans, tractors, cars with trailers, cars with lots of bikes, vehicles with boats etc. So I turned left and took a back road to follow a route used by locals. It took longer, but it was relatively quiet and I got to Penrith in the end.

The return I thought would be easy, as I would be going in the opposite direction to all the visitors. Oh no! The A66 was closed off because of an accident and the traffic was being diverted onto the very back road I had followed before. So all the cars, vans, caravans, trailers etc. were making their way along the narrow back roads. I was just about the only vehicle travelling in the opposite direction. And the driving I saw! People trying to overtake caravans when they could see a long line of traffic in front and the roads were so narrow. Ridiculous! I felt for the cyclists who use this normally quiet back road and were finding it hazardous today.

I did get home and on the way stopped to take a picture of a peaceful buttercup meadow.

Sometimes I feel there should be a sign - ‘The Lake District is Now Full’. I’m just so glad I’m not in Keswick at the moment and I vow never again to go out in the car on the Saturday before a Bank Holiday . . . never!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.