todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Welldoing...

I had a date with my physical, competitive self today at the gym but I took a rain-check. Every now and again, an old back complaint rears its ugly head and today was such a day. I've learned the best way to treat this.

A rest from the physical, a hot bath and some yoga. My favourite yoga pose is the beautifully named pose of a child which is very simple but very effective. Not only does it loosen my stiff back, it quickly gives me a sense of groundedness and peace.

I'm lucky to have a beautiful, bright space to stretch out in my bedroom bay window.

I've already blipped my recent holiday to Fuerteventura and I'm sure I mentioned the Thai massage centre I stumbled upon. Which turned out to be a wonderful, zen haven. I remember reading there about the concept of welldoing. We're all familiar with wellbeing. But ofcourse - how can we experience wellbeing, without practising welldoing..

So today, I'm practising welldoing. And tomorrow I'll keep that date with my physical, competitive self. Which will do wonders for my wellbeing.

"We are what we repeatedly do". Attributed to Aristotle but, as it turns out, written by Will Durant.

Amen to that.

Now I'm happily relaxing in front of the telly, watching Europe's best battle it out for football's greatest domestic team trophy.

Today outof10? A peaceful 8 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.