Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Engine Co. No. 7

Another building down my street. (So far, the street I live on has made about three appearance). Greenville St has some pretty neat architecture. This fire station has a reminiscent 50s look to it, just like the houses down the street. The design is simplistic and elegant. I never noticed it like that before. As a kid, I would always see the "no" on the building and I would wonder why. What does that mean - no 7. Years later, I would learn that it was an abbreviation for "number."

A second story about the building- I remember when I went to the elementary school at the end of the street, Diamond Elementary, we went on a field trip to this fire station. We learned about the fire trucks and how they would work. Exactly what we learned is now vague memory, but I can tell you this. As we were walking back to school, we past my house - then a pale yellow building - and my mom's red Nissan Sentra was parked in the drive way, ready to pick me up. She would go home for her lunch breaks to come pick us up.

Oh, how time flies...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.