Plot 17

By plot17

I Should Have Visited More Often

I was swithering whether or not to post this. It seems almost like an untimely visit to someone suffering a bereavement. However, walking back from the West End, always takes me past the Art School, and I'm someone who always looks up the hill towards it - it's such a familiar landmark in my city. Especially poignant today, with the taste of smoke still in the air.

Today everyone paused and made their own salute to what appears to be a shell of a building, At the time I was passing I was still hopeful from the press release of the previous evening. And here our thanks to @scotfire_west - the firefighters had arrived within 4 minutes and estimated they had saved 90% of the buildings and 70% of the contents. A remarkable feat, and also those who got all staff and students out safely - the fire spread from basement through four storeys to the roof in 15 minutes.

It wasn't until going home I discovered that that beautiful, unique Library was in the lost 10%. I'd been privileged enough to visit it in the past, but as one of my friends on twitter said it seems never often enough now.

Not to end on a low note, I'm sure it will rise like a phoenix to become that exotic building again, part of the soul of Glasgow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.