If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A pre war Cub Scout.

Saturday is change over day at the lodge so the three of us spent the morning out there doing the normal weekly routine. Then it was straight off to Carlisle for hospital visiting time. When CC got on the ward she discovered her Mum had been ready for discharge since yesterday evening and the hospital hadn't informed her. As you can imagine this did not go down well.

So we collected a relieved FredaH and brought her down home to her little bungalow. Katkatkat made a really good curry for our evening meal and then it was time to return FredaH to the bungalow.

All this activity has meant I am left with a desperation blip. I have known this little man all my life he belonged to my late mother who had a lifelong connection with the scouting movement. She was running the Aspatria Cubs at the out break of war and took over both the scouts and cubs when the scoutmaster was called up. Her connection with the troop continued through our scouting lives and culminated with her receiving the silver acorn. This is one of the highest scouting awards and was presented by Her Majesty the Queen at Windsor Castle.

When, how and why she got the little statuette (he is about 4 inches high and metal) I don't know, all I know is he stood in the middle of the sideboard my Granddad made all my life until we brought her to live with us after Dad died in 1984.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.