Gifts of Grace

By grace

Sun Cat?

I blipped this the other day because I had never seen anything like it. I was most struck that the sun was actually below the horizon, leaving its twin and a great single beam reaching into the sky. Actually it looked more like light was pouring DOWN into the twin. The twin and beam reflected on the sea long after sunset, much brighter than shows up here. The entire event had a wonderful magical air to it, not unlike an eclipse. Such stillness.

Then today Deb posted something similar! Someone suggested it was a Sun Dog - which I'd never heard of - 'though I'm fascinated by all things weather-related. Seems Sun Dogs are more or less horizontal phenomena - so maybe this is a Sun Cat?

Anyone seen anything similar?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.