The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

Snooping around

Today I had an epic adventure. I set off early and made the 300km trip to the town of Al Aqqha in the Emirate of Fujairah, on the UAE's east ceoast on the Gulf of Oman.

The sea here is full of rocky inlets and small islands with abundant tropical sea life. So armed with my snorkelling kit and my GoPro, I swam out to Snoopy Island - about 200 metres off the mainland, and was treated to a great display of marine life. All sorts of multi-coloured fish and sea anemones.

After an hour or so inthe water, I was treated to a close encounter with a 2 metre Blacktip Reef Shark which came past to say hello. As if that wasn't already amazing, I then spotted a huge Green Sea Turtle feeding on the sea floor. He came over to me and I swam right next to him for the next 10 minutes. Just an amazing day and something I will never forget!



Copyright © 2014 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.