Wo die Blumen sind

By Rebelblume

Antwerp seen from the north side of the river

The river being the Schelde. We got to the north eventually by a few minutes in the metro. We'd met an Italian woman on a walk on the south side, asking if we knew where the pedestrian tunnel was. I'd seen this on the map, and we walked towards where we suspected the entrance was. Then everything was like a dream I sometimes have where I enter into another world by going deep, deep into the earth. The beautiful art deco 1930's escalators were very dreamlike and their steepness too. I hid behind my friend's back and made it one level down, only to encounter another very very deep escalator appearing to go way down into hell. At this point I declined, saying i'd meet the others later, but my kind friend accompanied me to a wonderful sunny terrace for a beer with the locals, who told us there was a great view on the other side. Here you can check whether your level of claustrophobia would allow you to walk there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.