House for an Art Lover

After the terrible news on Friday that the masterpiece that is the Charles Rennie Macintosh designed Glasgow School of Art had caught fire and had been very badly damaged, I thought today I would post another of his buildings.

Glasgow School of Art is a work of pure delight and when I heard the news that it had caught fire I was really upset by the news, as were many people in Glasgow, Scotland and I am sure around the world. The early news of the fire looked very bad, but the brilliant work of the Scottish Fire Service helped limit the damage. Although there has been extensive damage, including the loss of the absolutely stunning library, much of the rest of the building has been saved.

As I was at the BBC today to do an interview on the Sunday Politics programme I had to drive past the House for an Art Lover and I took the opportunity to stop and walk round the outside of the house to remind myself of the genius of the work of Charles Rennie Macintosh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.