The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Feed Them And They Will Come ...

1 year ..7 months and a couple of days after we moved here to Tonyrefail I finally succeeded in the attracted birds into the garden!

It started a few weeks ago. The House Sparrows were stripping aphids from the rose bush outside the window, so I started chucking dried meal worm and bug mix under the bush, they quickly discovered it, and two House Sparrows became six or seven House Sparrows. The Jackdaws that normally scoff everything before anything else get a chance, but they couldn't see the food on the chippings in the border. Victory to me I thought.

And then a chance conversation with my mum led to another idea. She pointed out that the Jackdaws never eat the sunflower hearts if she puts seed mix on her table. I said I had noticed the same. So I thought, why not just buy sunflower hearts and see what happens. If nothing came I could always give the bag to mum and dad, so it wouldn't go to waste.

Nothing really happened for the next to two days after I put it on the feeding tray. I also refilled a feeder to see what fly in to investigate.

Today it has gone bonkers out there! I have had two Blackbirds, two Goldfinches, seven House Sparrows, five Jackdaws, one Blue Tit and a Partridge in the pear tree ... okay I made that last one up!

Finally I have a garden with birds in it again.

I bloody love cultural transmission. Words got out ... there's a new establishment in town ... all are welcome!

Male House Sparrow

Jackdaw

Goldfinch

House Sparrows

Female House Sparrow

Female Blackbird #1

Female Blackbird #2

Blue Tit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.