Dancing to Polish heavy rock...

Salisbury Arts Festival - Day 2

In complete contrast to the miserable, wet and uncomfortable shooting conditions of last night, warm, very sunny weather saw a most relaxed and friendly continental flavour, set out in the Guildhall and Market Squares.

A colourful market set out with everything imaginable from Italy to China, India to Belgium, via France and Russia, had folk whiling away the late Sunday afternoon, after the shops had closed. Tables and continental bars sold some strange looking brews and foods and this rather loud band - were they actually called 'Hot Dog'? - played well known rock covers really quite well and veered towards Europop catchy dance numbers, the sort where the lyrics are Oi Oi Oi and Yeah yeah yeah, you know the sort!

I don't know who this lady is, with the flowing hair, as she danced carefree on the last number played. But I liked how she looked and actually was quite neat the way she is directly in front of the band. There were several people deep and I was from quite afar, so most of my shots had people in the way and focussing errors, as the lens hunted what to latch onto. An eighty year young lady, with a cor-blimey Cockney accent, her daughter and granddaughter danced and this spritely lady had a great joke with them that she had "pulled" - yes, me! It was all great fun and I tried to get shots of her but had the problems I mentioned.

A rather dishevelled gentleman with a runaway beard, danced intimately with his 2 litre plastic bottle of cider, somewhat battered as he had dropped it several times.
Children danced, skateboarders skateboarded and kiddies were on bikes and trikes. Jim, my mate, the Big Issue seller had his best day yet, and sort of danced too, as he sold his wares.

Huge thanks to all who have commented on last night's image. It was probably the most difficult I'd ever got and I was really quite despondent last night when I went to bed. The camera, obviously, recovered but I was doubting myself and confidence again and whether I was going to be able to continue Blipping. Life is quite difficult for me right now, to be honest.

Today has been the antidote needed.

Thankyou again and I will try to get back on track with comments etc as soon as I realistically can.

Lens is Nikkor 18-200mm VR

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.