My supporters

I ran the EMF half marathon this morning. I ran it last year too (which was my first half marathon) and struggled with it a bit - finishing it in 2hrs 4 mins. This year I've done a bit more training and managed to get quite a decent pace. I've also managed to actually run the full distance in my training too, so I was quite hopeful of a good time today. I put down 1hr 55min as my estimate, and managed the 21km route in 1hr 49min 14sec! Although I was telling folk I was going for 1hr 55min, I was secretly aiming for as close to 1hr 50min as possible, so I was well chuffed to get under that target.

Although it was raining to start with this morning, it was still a great day, and the atmosphere both before and during the race was great.

Another difference from last year was that the missus and kids were there to cheer me on - they were just before the last turn into the final straight across the finish line, so when I past them and saw them cheering and waving it spurred me on for one last sprint to the line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.