Tools for the Job

Potatoes! My first planting in the new allotment plot at Belhaven Hospital. Behind, the polytunnel and Belhaven Brewery chimney.

I expected the job of tilling this stretch to take *days* after our initial go at the soil with garden forks and spades, but today I more-or-less randomly picked up this amazing tool - after much research I find it's called an azada hoe. You swing it like an axe, it digs like a shovel. Fantastic! Under 2 hours and I had the potatoes in.

So that's about 10 square metres dug. Now for the other 100...

Lots of effort in the last few days, my garden looking good, a 6 km run after Friday's 10km, some time on the rowing machine watching the Giro d'Italia, 2 loads of washing, windows cleaned... and the children home in the evening for a few days. Phew.

Perhaps I'll take it easy tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.