A nice find....

As you can see I didn't make it to Swindon. Sadly my daughter who was going with me was ill, and this combined with it being cold, and early in the flight season for Marsh fritillaries I decided to leave it for a week or two, just to make sure.
Instead I went to my favourite place to look for Small blues and orchids. It was beautiful up there, and very peaceful. with several male Small blues giving me the slip! There were also lots of Common spotted orchids all just a little different from each other in colour....so beautiful!
But despite all this today's blip is another Hover fly!
This hover fly Doros conopseus or Doros profuges is actually a really lovely find. According to the literature it is always very rare, and is in the insect red data book.
It is found on chalk grassland at the edge of scrub or woodland, often in association with bramble....which was exactly where I found it!!
Someone contacted me already for the record, apparently it is only found once every 3 years or so....I am well chuffed!
I think it makes a really nice blip, I hope you do too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.