Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Frozen Forth on the Fifth

One of those days that makes this blipping lark easy?

Having a special 'bonus' holiday from work today (nothing to do with the weather either) meant I could get out and about during the daylight and get some shots off. Fantastic sunshine too, as opposed to the snow that seems to be falling all around us here in Central Scotland and elsewhere, although still brass monkey cold.

I headed off on one of my favourite walks along the River Devon and then along the River Forth for a bit. I don't think I've ever seen the Rivers down this way freeze over but today there was plenty of ice flowing down the Forth. I was down there at low-tide and the mini-icebergs and ice-flows had become trapped on the mud banks and were clumping together in large masses. Quite a surreal sight and one I've certainly never experienced in my lifetime. Some of the herons were using the ice as perches - one of the two in the picture here is doing so [Larger View] - but none of the other wildlife was taking much notice of it.

We didn't have any snow down this way during the day; a small flurry early this morning and another around an hour or so ago as the wind picked up. There?s little snow forecast either but the temperature?s to drop to -3 so another cold night.

Off now to watch 'Ice Road Truckers' to see if I can get any tips for the first commute to work tomorrow? :-(

NB: Those black lumps in this picture are lumps of ice in the middle of the River Forth, not rocks. This image shows you another view.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.